Click on the link of the database that you would like to search. Have your library card available. You may need your barcode number to access some of these databases.

Ancestry Library

Ancestry Library


This database is a genealogical research tool that provides access to more than 1.5 billion names in more than 4,000 databases, including census records, immigration records, and passenger lists.

Britannica Online

Britannica Online


Includes the complete encyclopedia as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the year.

Britannica Escolar

Britannica Escolar


Includes the complete encyclopedia as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the year.

Consumer Reports

Consumer Reports


This resource assists consumers in making better purchase decisions about the products they are shopping for and provides ratings and reviews, recommendations and buying advice for thousands of products and services.

Creativebug

Creativebug


Patrons have an all-access, no-boundaries pass to explore thousands of classes. People of all skill levels can work alongside instructors to learn craft techniques.

Cypress Resume

Cypress Resume


An online tool that helps you effortlessly create a professional resume in just a few minutes. Its easy-to-use format assures you won't spend hours trying to perfect your document—all the hard work is done for you. Simply plug in your basic information (as little or as much as you'd like), and Cypress Resume creates a perfectly formatted document to help you land that dream job.

Digital Magazines

Digital Magazines


Patrons can access a collection of interactive, digital magazines. They can be read online and downloaded for reading at a later date.

EBSCOHost

EBSCOHost


Search EBSCOhost for information on business, health, current events, arts, science and entertainment from magazines and newspapers. It includes links to Searchasaurus for children, Novelist and TopicSearch. You will need to enter your library card barcode to access this service.

EBSCOHost

EBSCOHost Bases de datos


Search EBSCOhost for information on business, health, current events, arts, science and entertainment from magazines and newspapers. It includes links to Searchasaurus for children, Novelist and TopicSearch. You will need to enter your library card barcode to access this service.

EBSCO Health Databases

EBSCO Health Databases


provides comprehensive evidence-based reports and fact sheets in Spanish on all aspects of consumer health and wellness. Topic specific reports covering all aspects of health offer valuable overviews on diseases, conditions, procedures and various treatments. The content found in this database includes a diverse collection of health related themes: first aid, infant/child care and illnesses, alternative medicine, aging and wellness. Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.

EBSCO's Salud en Español

EBSCO's Salud en Español


provides comprehensive evidence-based reports and fact sheets in Spanish on all aspects of consumer health and wellness. Topic specific reports covering all aspects of health offer valuable overviews on diseases, conditions, procedures and various treatments. The content found in this database includes a diverse collection of health related themes: first aid, infant/child care and illnesses, alternative medicine, aging and wellness. Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.

FindLaw

FindLaw


Is a web portal for law, government, and legal resources for use by legal professionals, consumers and small businesses.

GaleGroup

Gale Group


A web version of Gale Research products: Associations Unlimited, Biography Researach Center, Literature Resource Center, Student Resource Center, Student Health Module, History Resource Center, Opposing Viewpoints, Consulta (en espanol), and Biography and Genealogy Master Index.

GreenFile

GreenFILE


A database of information about environmental concerns. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.

Hempstead Library Card Catalog

Hempstead Library Card Catalog


View our holdings as well as the holdings in all Nassau County libraries. With your library barcode and PIN number you can check your account by clicking on My Library Account

Hoopla Digital

Hoopla Digital


Hoopla lets you instantly borrow free digital movies, music, TV shows, comics, eBooks, and audiobooks with your library card. Titles pre-downloaded to your device can be accessed offline and there are no holds, waits, or fines. Visit hoopladigital.com.

Information Please

Information Please


is a collection of almanacs and reference books loaded with statistics, facts, and historical records.

¡Informe!

¡Informe!

A Spanish language online database.

InfoTrac

InfoTrac


Use InfoTrac to search magazine, newspapers (NY Times daily updates), and reference books for information on business, health, industry, current events, the arts, science, entertainment, etc.

InfoTrac Kids and Juniors Editions

InfoTrac Kids and Juniors Editions


Use these databases to search magazines, reference books and newspapers for information on the elementary and middle-school levels.

Learning Express Library

Learning Express Library


Workplace Skills Improvement
Learning Express Library is the leading source of test preparation materials and interactive practice exams, based on official tests that will help you improve your scores on academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams. They provide immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and individualized analysis of your score.

Job & Career Accelerator

Job & Career Accelerator


Start Your Job Search Now! Get detailed information on occupations that suit your interests. Access current job listings from over 5 million job postings, which are collected from all major job boards. Create professional resumes and cover letters, master interviewing and networking techniques, and more. Job & Career Accelerator is your guide to getting hired!

Kanopy

Kanopy


Kanopy is a video streaming service that provides instant access to thousands of critically acclaimed movies, documentaries and kids favorites. Stream Kanopy on any of your favorite devices! Kanopy is accessible via mobile and tablet apps for iPhone and Android.Access Kanopy on your Desktop, and SmartTV apps like Roku, Apple TV, and Fire Stick. Have your library card ready to get started.

Mango Languages

Mango Languages


Learn a new language with this interactive database that provides step by step lesson plans over 70 different languages. This database features ESL lessons for numerous languages, including Spanish. *First time users must create a profile in order to access the resource. Have your library card ready.

Newsday

Newsday


Access to full text articles from Newsday's archives from 1985 to present.

NOVEL Databases

NOVEL Databases


NOVEL databases are provided by the New York State Library through a Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) grant to the New York State Library. Databases include: Health Reference Center, Business and Company Resource Center, Twayne Author Series, Custom Newspapers, New York State Newspapers and the National Newspaper Index.

Novelist

Novelist


A readers' advisory database will full-text reviews and annotations for over 20,000 titles. Searches can be made for children's, young adult, and adult levels.

NUWAV Legal Documents

NUWAV Legal Documents


NUWAV Legal Documents, the online tool that lets you create professional-quality documents in three simple steps:

  1. Search for the document specific to your situation.
  2. Answer the questions in the web input form.
  3. Review and print your document.

That's it! You now have a professional-quality legal document ready to file.

ProQuest

ProQuest


database offers access to over 1,800 newspapers, periodicals, and academic journals. ProQuest includes coverage of many national newspapers, such as The Washington Post, Newsday, The Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Barron's, USA Today, The New York Times (full-text for 90 days), and the Wall Street Journal (full-text back to 1989). Also included is access to Hoover's Company Records and an interdisciplinary research library.

World Book Online

World Book Online


Includes the complete World Book Encyclopedia, an atlas, and the Enciclopedia Estidiantil Hallazgos.